2018 Annual General Meeting

Following completion of the 2018 Program of play, the Geelong Chess Club will have an open evening of social chess this Thursday, 6th December. All are welcome to play.

Next Thursday, 13th December, the Club winds up the year with its 2018 Annual General Meeting, followed by prize presentations and light refreshments.


Three way tie for Ten Minute Championship

The Geelong Chess Club 2018 Ten Minute Championship ended in a three way tie between Zoran Babic, Alistair Anderson, and Michael Sugrue.

The club also welcomed new players Sagargiri  Goswani and Matthew Whitford, who both acquitted themselves well, finishing in the top half of the table.

Please see the Tournament Page for final standings.

Gorka takes 2018 Victorian Country Chess Championship

Carl Gorka has won the 2018 Victorian Country Chess Championship, with an unbeaten score of 5.5 out 6 points. Geelong’s Reza Daneshvar took outright second place, also unbeaten on 5 points.

Ballarat’s Ruari Coffey played well over his 1487 rating, to take third place outright, and the Reserve Championship Title, with a likewise unbeaten score of 4.5 points.
Equal second for the Reserve Title were Kevin Perrin, and Geelong’s Jack Smith, likewise performing well above his 1324 rating on 3.5 points.

Geelong’s Alistair Anderson performed strongly, coming equal 4th outright on 4 points (losing only to Daneshvar). Geoff Barber, Barboros Kara, and Mio Ristic all scored 3.5 points, newcomer Paul Brown belied his 1016 rating to gain a creditable 3 points, with Rod Hessing and Andrew Wemyss on 2.5 points, and Zoran Babic on 1.5 points.

Full results are published on ChessChat.org, please also visit the web site for highlights.