Newcomer takes lightning title

The clubs’ lightning championship was held on October the 5th with a field of ten competing.  The winner was Rod Hessing, who arrived from Western Australia not so long ago.  The runner-up was our president Geoffrey Gill. Geoffrey defeated Rod in their encounter and led by a half point going into the final round but then lost his last game to Geoffrey Barber, while Rod scored a full point against Reza Daneshvar.  Occasional visitor Kingsley Chung had an impressive result, winning all his games except those against the top two.

Full details of the event are here

Ten Minute Championship claimed by junior

Junior player Connor Liu is the 2017 Ten Minute Champion.

He has made remarkable progress since last April, when he came fourth in the Ten Minute Handicap playing with a large favourable handicap. In the latest event he defeated on equal terms the previous title holder Reza Daneshvar and also current joint club champion Geoff Barber whom he had lost to in the handicap event despite having a 16 to 4 minute advantage.

Full results here

Championship result still uncertain.

Three more games of the tournament were completed on Thursday 21/9

(see Championship page)

There are now four matches outstanding and three of them could affect the outcome. The leading contenders for the title are:

Player                    Score         Pending results

Michael Sugrue            10              1

Geoffery Gill             10              0

Reza Danseshvar           9.5             1

Geoff Barber              9               1

Any of them could conceivably end up as 2017 champion, so stay tuned.

If it aint ‘Baroque’ don’t fix it.

On Thursday last, eight members started a two-week novelty tournament where matches were played on two boards simultaneously (all other rules being normal) at a rate of 20 minutes per player plus a 2 second increment.

Three rounds were played on the first night, and the event was completed with three rounds Thursday the 30th.  The term ‘Baroque’ was applied to the event in error as it refers to a completely different kind of chess variant.  The tournament results can be viewed here.

2016 Rapid Play Championship starts on Thursday 24th November.

There will be six rounds, with two rounds per night over three Thursdays.
See the Tournament Page for more details.

Players may also submit a late entry, starting from Thursday 1st December.
Please forward late registration requests to email address by 6:30pm Thursday, 24th November.

The event was held in the middle of the year last time, and the title then was taken by Michael Sugrue, closely pressed by Reza Daneshvar. Reza may be the one to beat this year, as he blitzed the lightning championship back in October, tied with Michael in the Spring Rapid in September and was first in the Ten Minute Championship also in September.

Meanwhile, last Thursday Zoran Babic and Rod Hessing completed their outstanding game from the Spring Swiss.

[Event “Sping Swiss”]
[Site “Geelong Chess Club”]
[Date “2016.11.17”]
[Round “3”]
[White “Zoran Babic”]
[Black “Rod Hessing”]
[Result “0-1”]

1.e4 d5 2.exd5 Qxd5 3.Nc3 Qa5 4.d4 Nf6 5.Bd2 c6 6.Nf3 Bg4 7.Be2 Bxf3 8.Bxf3 e6 9.Qe2 Qc7 10.O-O Bd6 11.g3 h5 12.Bg5 Nbd7 13.d5 Nxd5 14.Nxd5 cxd5 15.Bxd5 O-O 16.Bxe6?? Rae8 17.Bxf7+ Kxf7 18.Qxh5+ Kg8 19.Rae1 Ne5 20.Bf4 Nf7 21.Bxd6 Qxd6 22.Rxe8 Rxe8 23.Rd1 Qe5 24.Qg6 Qe2 25.Rd7 Qf3 0-1

Zorans’ unsound sacrifice on move 16 was decisive.  He possibly thought his three pawn plus was sufficient compensation, but this turned out not to be so.