Reza wins 2018 Lightning Championship

Reza Daneshvar became 2018 Club Lightning Champion with a score of 7/8 – closely followed by Mio Ristic and Alistair Anderson on 6/8. Special mention goes to Jack Smith, who officiated as Director of Play and also took outright 4th position on 5.5/8.


All tied up for 2018 Championships

The 2018 Club Championship series saw

Alistair Anderson and Michael Sugrue drew their game in round 5 for the Club Championship, sharing line honors on 4/5, with Geoffrey Gill third on 2.5/5 points.
Anderson and Sugrue will play a two-game tiebreaker on the 4th and 11th October, 2018.

Meanwhile, Paul Brown won the second playoff round of the Reserve Championship, securing joint Championship with Jack Smith (who won the first round).


Smith, Brown in Tiebreaker for Reserve Championship

The 2018 Geelong Chess Club Reserve Championship remains in the balance after Jack Smith and Paul Brown tied with two points out of three. They will now play a two-match playoff on August 9th and 16th.

Meanwhile, old rivals Alistair Anderson and Michael Sugrue have taken the early running in the Club Championship, leading on two and a half points each with two rounds to play.

Geelong retains Fletcher Morrow Shield for 2018

Geelong retained the Fletcher Morrow Shield after defeating Ballarat 6.5 to 3.5 on Sunday 12th August, 2018 in Ballarat. The contest was much closer than the final scores suggested, with Bas Van Riel beating Michael Sugrue on board 1 (the latter’s first defeat in the Series),  and Patrick Cook holding Alistair Anderson to a draw with the black pieces.  Other Ballarat winners were Kevin Perrin and Kiki Dunn.