Summer Rapid Will Mark the Start of Geelong Chess Club’s 2020!

The Summer Rapid will commence this coming Thursday (6th Feb), and will be the first tournament for Geelong Chess Club’s new year!

There will be 6 rounds over two weeks (Feb 6: R1, R2, R3 and Feb 13: R4, R5, R6) and the time control will be 20 minutes plus 2 seconds per move. The tournament will be ACF (Australian Chess Federation) quickplay rated. Don’t worry if you don’t have a rating; you can still play!)

We will try to start at roughly 7:15, so please ensure you are at the club by then if you want to play.

Hope to see you there!

Saturday Afternoon Casual! Bring your friends!

Geelong Chess Club is trialling a casual afternoon chess session. Come along and bring your friends!

What: Saturday Afternoon Chess! Come along and have a friendly game of chess with players of all skill levels.

Where: Geelong West Neighbourhood House
89 Autumn St, Geelong West, 3218

When: 12pm – 2 pm Saturdays, starting November 9

Cost: $2/participant to cover renting costs

Tea and coffee available + Free parking nearby

Limited sets available; bring your own if possible, but make sure you can identify your own set if you do!

We are not yet sure if this will continue over the holiday period; it will depend on the turnout/interest we get. Anyone from beginner to experienced club veteran is welcome to come and have a game or two in a relaxed atmosphere!

We’d like to see you there if you can make it!

If you have any questions, please contact us:

PH: 0406199457 – SMS preferred

Club Championship almost at halfway point, Daneshvar, Davis lead

The Club Championship’s 4th round will be played this coming Thursday, 31st October. Two players lead on an undefeated score of 2.5/3, Reza Daneshvar and visitor Tony Davis, Davis having beaten top seed Alistair Anderson in round 3, Daneshvar fighting back from a worse position to take the full point from the dangerous Omar Bashar.

In the coming round, Tony will play 2017 Lightning Champion Rod Hessing as Black, while Reza takes on Mio Ristic. One thing is certain: there will be no easy games…

Anderson blitzes Lightning Championship for 11th time

The 2019 Lightning Championship was won by Alistair Anderson, who took away his 11th Lightning Championship title!

In a field of 9 players, Alistair left his competition in the dust, scoring 6/7. Reza Daneshvar, Mio Ristic, and Jack Smith finished behind him with 4.5/7 to share second place.

Merriment was made – along with more than a few blunders – and a fun night was had by all, with a few games of “transfer” being played afterwards. 
Congratulations to Alistair on another fine victory!

For details, see the tournament page here:

Barber Wins Winter Swiss

Geoff Barber has emerged victorious in the Winter Swiss with a final score of 4/5, sealing his victory by drawing the first seed in the last round!

In the other game played on the night, Jack surprised Mio in the opening and wound up breaking through with a kingside passed pawn to claim second.

Rodel Sicat, though unable to play the final round, shows that he is competent at all formats, getting good results against club stalwarts Mio Ristic and Reza Daneshvar.

See final standings here:

Upcoming Tournament to be held in Altona

The Best in the West tournament will again be hosted by the Hobson’s Bay Chess Club at the Louis Joel Arts and Community Centre in Altona. The tournament will be held for 5 rounds over two days (31 August – 1 September) with a time control of 60 minutes + 30 seconds increment for every round.

This tournament routinely hosts a number of strong players, and Geelong is traditionally well represented, with 4 players from our club attending last year’s event.

Please see the Chess Chat page for more details:

Winter Swiss Underway, Barber leads

The Winter Swiss is currently in round 4/5, with Geoff Barber leading on a clear 3.5/4. Only Mio and Jack can catch him up to tie for first; and coincidentally, the same two are playing in the next round! The question remains the same as it has been all tournament: can Geoff Barber be stopped?

View the tournament page here: